WTF Finnish One Piece manga?
Nov. 1st, 2005 10:45 pmThey changed Hatchi's name! I mean, Django I can sort of pretend never happened, the stupid attack "translations" - if you can call them that - I can live with, and Nezumi's name change I can sort of accept (after all, the joke would have been lost on most readers and they basically just translated it), but they named Hatchi "Musti", which is a play on the word "muste", which in turn means ink and is part of the word "mustekala" (octopus), which wouldn't be such an idiotic move if Musti wasn't a generic dog name that no one really gives their dog (think "Spot"). Hatchan isn't a dog, dammit, he's an octopus!
I also realized that probably the only reason why they left "aniki" be was because in Finnish, we don't generally call our friends brothers, so it couldn't really be translated.
Sanji doesn't seem to be calling Nami Nami-san, either. Glad they didn't opt for Miss Nami, though, it was weird enough having Kaya call Usopp mr. Usopp, when absolutely nobody calls anyone a mr. these days.
I also realized that probably the only reason why they left "aniki" be was because in Finnish, we don't generally call our friends brothers, so it couldn't really be translated.
Sanji doesn't seem to be calling Nami Nami-san, either. Glad they didn't opt for Miss Nami, though, it was weird enough having Kaya call Usopp mr. Usopp, when absolutely nobody calls anyone a mr. these days.